GSO Test


Holy Trinity Lamorbey CE Primary School teaches children across 3 Key Stages. Early Years Foundation Stage, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2.

The Foundation Stage is a distinct stage with its own early learning goals. The goals cover three prime areas of young children’s development and four specific areas.

 These are

Prime areas;

Personal, social and emotional development

Developing confidence and independence while learning to concentrate and to enjoy sharing as part of a group.

Communication and language

Communicating with one another and developing skills in talking and listening.

Physical development

Improving control and co-ordination of their bodies while learning to handle equipment.

Specific Areas;


This is the early development of reading and writing skills.


Early development of mathematical skills and using ideas about number, quantity, measurement, shape and space.

Understanding of the world

Investigating and beginning to understand the things, places and people around them.

Expressive arts and design

Finding ways to communicate by using colour, shape, sound, texture, movement and stories.

During the Foundation Stage these areas of learning will be introduced in ways that are suitable for young children, often through play. In the Foundation Stage the school will build on children’s existing skills and interests, and on their play activities, in order to help them learn.

Key Stage 1 and 2 follow the National Curriculum. Please download the curriculum overview below to see a detailed breakdown of what is covered across KS1 and KS2


Show list Show Grid